Club News

Sailing’s Best of 2011 Are Shortlisted

By | December 08, 2011

US Sailing has nominated its 2011 sailors for the  Rolex Yachtsman & Yachtswoman of the Year Award. SDYC's Bill Hardesty and George Szabo are on the short list for Yachtsman of the Year. The awards ceremony will take place in February 2012 at St. Francis Yacht Club.

Bill Hardesty
Etchells World Championship, San Diego, Calif. (1st/81 boats)
47th Congressional Cup, Long Beach, Calif. (1st/10 Catalina 37s – tactician)
Monsoon Cup, Kuala Terengganu, Malaysia (1st/12 boats – crew)
Portimão Portugal Match Cup, Portimão Portugal (1st/12  boats – crew)
Stena Mach Cup, Marstrand, Sweden (1st/14 boats – crew)
CMRC Grade 2 Invitational, Chicago, Ill. (1st/10 Tom28s)
VIII Open de España Match Race, Calpe, Spain, (1st/12 Tom28s – Tactician)
SDYC Etchells One Design Weekend, San Diego, Calif. (1st/39 boats)
Etchells Midwinters West Championship, San Diego, Calif. (1st/45 boats)
Sailing Supply Etchells Orca Bowl, San Diego, Calif. (1st/46 boats)
Chicago Yacht Club Race to Mackinac, Chicago, Ill. (1st Section 2, 4th overall – Tactician)
Rolex Big Boat Series, San Francisco, Calif. (2nd/9 Express 37s – Tactician)
Ugotta Regatta, Harbor Springs, Mich. (2nd/3 boats Division 1 - Tactician)
St. Moritz Match Race, St. Moritz, Switzerland (3rd/12 boats – tactician)
Farr 40 World Championship, Sydney, Australia (4th/20 boats - Tactician)

George Szabo
Star North American Championship, Tampa, Fla. (1st/28 boats)
French Olympic Sailing Week, Hyères, France (3rd/37 Stars)


Full list of nominees