Club News

Posts from December 2016

Posts from November 2016

Posts from October 2016

Posts from August 2016

Cole Harris and Joanne O’Dea Win SDAYC Annual Awards

By Jared Wohlgemuth | December 09, 2016

San Diego Yacht Club is proud to congratulate club members Cole Harris, winner of the Hartley Award as the Junior Yachtsman of the Year, and Joanne O'Dea, winner of the Alonzo de Jessop Memorial Award.

Cruising Fleet 2016 Visit to the Seine River

By Lance Murphy | December 08, 2016

The SDYC and Cruising Fleet Burgees are proudly shown during an October trip down the Seine River. Starting in Paris and visiting the landing beaches of Normandy, the group of 9 became quick friends with Captain Fantzy Vandeville (center holding the SDYC burgee). Captain Fantzy is the youngest person to make captain in the Viking fleet and will be visiting SDYC in late January.

Hot Rum Series Wrap Up

By Emily Willhoft | December 05, 2016

In the late 1950s, SDYC member Herb Sinhoffer said, “Why don’t we have a winter series where we start the boats on their handicaps so that they all get to the bar at the same time and enjoy a bit of rum to celebrate the race and our great San Diego weather!” Fast forward almost 60 years later, the Hot Rum Series is now one of the most popular fall sailing events in San Diego. This year, San Diego Yacht Club hosted the Series on three different Saturdays: November 5 and 19 and December 3.

Joanne O’Dea Honored with SDAYC’s Alonzo de Jessop Memorial Award

By SDAYC | November 28, 2016

Dennis Conner Receives New York Yacht Club Medal

By | November 22, 2016

San Diego Yacht Club member and sailing legend Dennis Conner was honored with the New York Yacht Club Medal on Thursday, November 10 at NYYC’s Clubhouse in downtown Manhattan.

Georgetown University Wins the 2016 ICSA Match Racing Nationals

By Emily Willhoft | November 21, 2016

The 2016 College Sailing Match Racing Nationals, hosted by San Diego Yacht Club (SDYC), concluded today on San Diego Bay. After three days of competitive racing, Georgetown University has won the Cornelius Shields Sr. Trophy.

Page 2 of 108 pages  < 1 2 3 4 >  Last ›