Announcing the 2018 Lineup of Lipton Cup Teams

San Diego Yacht Club hosts the 104th Lipton Cup regatta on October 26-28, 2018 with 12 races. Twelve yacht club teams from all over the country will race in the stadium sailing venue of San Diego Bay with one common goal: the Cup… one of the most coveted, sought after trophies on the West Coast. Skippers and their teams will compete in a rotation of 12 J/105s while spectators, friends and family cheer them on the finish.

Last year, San Diego Yacht Club won the Cup, followed by Newport Yacht Club in second and San Francisco Yacht Club in third. This year, the entry list stays similar, allowing for a familiar, challenging race between the clubs.

Questions for Chair Alli Bell can be sent to

Please see the Notice of Race for more information.
Follow the race on social media: @sdyc1886
Use the hashtag #SDYCLiptonCup to engage on social media with fellow followers.

“The San Diego Yacht Club is honored to be involved with the Lipton Cup for over 100 years. We have 12 identical J/105s that all have the same hull, mass, make allowing for a great, fair regatta that anyone can win, which is the whole idea. We encourage the yacht clubs to invite their members to come and cheer them on. When you’re racing these regattas, rounding the mark, and all the spectator boats for your club are honking the horn and cheering you on around the first mark… that’s really special. SDYC is excited to see the same clubs back for another competition!”

Michael Dorgan
SDYC Commodore