Junior Summer Sailing Program

Team SDYC at the Orange Bowl Regatta

It was a quick turnaround for SDYC Juniors following Christmas day as our top competitors headed to Miami, FL for the annual Orange Bowl Regatta! This event is a traditional pilgrimage for junior sailors across the country and features over 700 sailors racing a variety of classes! SDYC had sailors competing in the C420, Laser Full, Laser Radial, 29er and Optimist fleets. The regatta saw a variety of conditions with the constant passing of storm fronts throughout the four days of completion. The final day (Dec. 30th) was canceled due to a lack of breeze, so results were intact after Dec. 29th. San Diego Juniors finished up with some fantastic results including Scott Sinks/Rebecca McElvain (2nd of 102 C420) narrowly missing the overall C420 victory in what was a battle with the eventual winner. Richard Didham battled hard and remained consistent to take (2nd of 20 Laser Full Rigs). Other stand out results include: Andy Reiter/Charlie Miller (7th of 102 C420), Will La Dow/Holley Toppa (12th of 102, C420), Max Brill/Zach Malcolm (6th of 21, 29er)! Awesome job to all who went and competed, you guys rock!

SDYC Junior Invitational Tune-Up Sabot Clinic - Thursday/Friday, January 2-3

  • In addition to/in allude of Afterschool Practice we will be hosting a Tune-Up Clinic in preparation for the Jr. Invite!
  • The clinic will run from noon-4:00ish each day
  • Returning guest alumni coaches
  • Come on down either both or one day!
  • The schedule should look something like this:
    • Clinic Schedule:
    • Noon-12:45: Arrive and rig
    • 12:45-1:00: Briefing
    • 1:00-3:30: on the water
    • 3:30-4:00: Derig
    • 4:00-4:30: Debrief

2014 Junior Board Election Results

Congratulations to the newly elected 2014 Junior Board of Directors! This is a wonderful group of young leaders, so I think we can all expect big things next year!

Clayton Schluter
  Matt Dorgan
Laser Captain
Jesse McKnight
Vice Commodore
  Jack Egan
A Fleet Captain
Amanda Majernik
  Millie Dorgan
B Fleet Captain
Cole Harris
C420 Captain
  Piper Holthus
C Fleet Captain


Dutch Shoe Marathon

Results are posted! Congratulations to the 160+ finishers.

A Fleet Winner: Max Brill, MBYC
B Fleet Winners: David Wood, BYC
C Fleet Winner: Joshua Means, BCYC
Senior Fleet Winner: Hans Henken, CYC

Point Loma High School Sailing Team Does It Again!

SDYC-based Point Loma High School Sailing Team defended its title as ISSA Team Race National Champions this past weekend in Davis Island, Florida. Twelve high schools from around the country competed over Memorial Day weekend for the coveted Baker trophy. Point Loma finished Saturday's qualifying round-robin undefeated with a record of 11-0. Sunday's final round robin left the door open for competition as the top 4 teams sailed each other twice with scores carrying over. The final race pitted Point Loma against the Antilles school from the US Virgin Islands in a race which if Antilles won would force a tie-breaker round to determine the overall victor. Point Loma persisted to win this race with a 1,2,4 combination taking home the crown of 2013 Team Race National Champions! A huge congratulations to the PLHS Sailing Team and Coach Steve Hunt on their win!


SDYC Junior Sailing
1011 Anchorage Lane
San Diego, CA 92106
Junior Director: John Fretwell