2014 International Masters Regatta Comes to a Close
View results of the 12 boat rotation with Augie Diaz on top

Familiar Faces and Fast Sailing

Out of twelve legendary sailors, one has sailed away with the title of International Masters Regatta Champion. On the final day of racing it was Augie Diaz who finished in first place for the three day regatta, continuing his streak of impressive finishes. Diaz also took gold for the 2013 Star Western Hemisphere Championship and 2013 Star Winter Series Championship.

masters3a  masters3b  masters3c

Saturday afternoon brought in steady winds ranging from 9 to 12 kts and set the stage for a total of four highly competitive races. By the end of the day it was Bob Fisher who led the regatta, followed by Gary Jobson and Augie Diaz who sat a mere five points behind the leader. However, even with picture perfect San Diego racing conditions, the regatta’s most memorable moments on Saturday happened off the water. In an annual tradition, each of the 12 skippers shared the stories they have collected over decades of sailing by introducing their crews with speeches that are equal parts comedy roast and commendation.

Sports commentator Gary Jobson, whose Olympic coverage even won an Emmy in 1988 and professional spokesperson Tom Ehman were among the crowd favorites, proving even further that this group of skippers truly knows everything about sailing, both on and off the water.

The final day of the regatta would bring back the shifting winds, but the race committee worked hard to spot out the steadiest locations, moving the course and weather marks accordingly. The founder of the regatta Don Trask and Jonathan Wright both excelled in Sunday’s conditions, taking them from their previous positions in the middle of the scoreboard to second and third place overall. Unable to manage the shifty winds, day two’s leader Bob Fisher fell to sixth place.

Overall, competitors had a great time sailing out on the beautiful San Diego Bay. For many of them, this regatta is not just a competition to see who can still sail the fastest, but a way to see familiar faces. Several of the skippers were also college rivals, turning the Masters regatta into a rematch of sorts. Bill Campbell, crewing for childhood friend Gary Jobson said “I had a great time. The competition was excellent and all the competitors want to do well. But they also want to spend time with people they have known for many years, and catch up with their lives and families. It’s a regatta with a bunch of guys and women who are simply happy to be able to continue competing in the sport we have known and loved for most of our lives.”

Diaz wasn’t the only one to walk away with a trophy on Sunday, as Malin Burnham, the force that makes this regatta possible, introduced a new tradition into the competition. The last place finisher Tom Ehman was awarded with a silver shovel, which as Burnham describes is to help “shovel yourself out of last place for next year.” Though it’s a new tradition, the shovel already represents what this regatta is about: a fun (and sometimes funny) way to honor the legends of the sport.

Results: www.sdyc.org/results14/masters_res.htm
Photo Gallery: https://www.flickr.com/photos/sdyc/sets/72157648943506291/


sunroad sdboatshow jk3yachts ballast_point jackson
dixieline1 jones_lumber1 northsails northsails_od

10:00 AM - 5:00 PMWeigh In & RegistrationJessop Classroom
12:00 - 3:45 PMPracticeSan Diego Bay
5:00 PM - 8:00 PMTaste of Point LomaSailwash Lawn, Front Deck
7:30 AM - 10:00 AMRegatta Breakfast AvailableMain Dining Room
9:00 AM - 10:00 AMWeigh In & RegistrationJessop Classroom
10:00 AMSailors MeetingSailwash Lawn
1:00 PMRace Warning SignalSan Diego Bay
After RacingDockside SocialFront Dock
EveningDeck Dining AvailableFront Deck
7:30 AM - 10:00 AMRegatta Breakfast AvailableMain Dining Room
12:00 PMRace Warning SignalSan Diego Bay
After RacingDockside SocialFront Dock
6:00 PM - 10:00 PMRegatta Banquet - ReservationsMain Dining Room
7:30 AM - 10:00 AMRegatta Breakfast AvailableMain Dining Room
12:00 PMRace Warning SignalSan Diego Bay
After RacingAwards PartyFront Dock
Entry List

Don Trask
CREW: Dr. Joe McCoy, Debra Hong, Russ Silvestri, Chris Snow, Chris Doolittle
More Info

Augie Diaz
CREW: Chuck Driscoll, Charlie Jenkins, Chuck Skewes, Sandy Vissman, Susan Dijkman   ...
More Info

Chuck Nichols
CREW: Chris Busch, Andy La Dow, Al Pleskus, John Reiter, Betty Sherman     .   ...
More Info

Bruce Munro
CREW: Mark Chandler, Annie Gardner, Paul Heineken, Chris Perkins, Eric Witte      . ...
More Info

Dick Enersen
CREW: Jim Dorsey, Shala Lawrence, Bob Cadranell, Jennifer Dunbar, Bill Dana     ...
More Info

Tom Ehman
CREW: Tod Clark, Marshall Harrington, Jim Nicholas, John Craig    
More Info

Dennis Durgan
CREW: Bill Menninger, Shawn Patrick, Brad Pantoskey, John Fuller      .   ...
More Info

Bob Fisher
CREW: Phil Lawrence, Stuart Johnstone, Brent Draney, Julia Langford          . ...
More Info

Jon Andron
CREW: Tom Ducharme, Dave Kelly, Andy MacDonald, Peter Burton, Sean Svendsen  .   ...
More Info

Donald Martin
CREW: Eric Jespersen, Steve White, Jim Prentice, Phillip Cragg     .     ...
More Info

Gary Jobson
CREW: Jud Smith, Bill Campbell, Patrick Morrisey, John Dennis, Dan Aeling ...
More Info

Jonathan Wright
CREW: Scott Vogel, Bill Trenkle, Vince Brun, John MacCausland, Peter Isler    .   ...
More Info